Popcorn “Au Naturel” (with Cinnamon Honey Butter!)

27 Sep

Popcorn on the cob

I was reading recently about a case in the United States where a federal court jury awarded a former employee of a microwave popcorn manufacturing plan $7.2M because he’d developed “popcorn lung” (“Man Gets $7.2M in ‘Popcorn Lung’ Lawsuit”, Ottawa Citizen, Sept 21). It seems he developed the respiratory condition from inhaling the chemical used in butter flavouring over a period of years. It’s not the first instance – since 2004 there have been a number of similar cases and even one of a consumer developing it after long term daily consumption of microwave popcorn.

This is on the heels of a recent finding of a link between microwave popcorn butter flavouring and the progression of Alzheimer’s (“A Sad Kernel of Truth: Popcorn Butter Flavouring Linked to Alzheimer’s” Globe & Mail, August 10). All that remains now is for the stuff to creep up the stairs in the middle of the night and knife me in my sleep.

I love popcorn but I do not wish to end my life with the lung capacity of a retired coal miner. Nor do I wish to impair my mental faculties anymore than they may already be. Fortunately, I’ve already discovered the perfect alternative to microwave popcorn of the bagged variety and a way better alternative to the artificial butter flavouring.

Introducing – dried corn on the cob! That’s right my friends, you can purchase whole dried ears of corn just for popping in the microwave – just like nature intended! Acorn Creek Farms sells these in bags of about five ears each. All you have to do is stick the ear in a paper bag, fold it up, microwave it for a few minutes and voila! Crunchy fluffy popcorn with none of the preservatives, additives etc.

A few friendly tips for you – it’s best if you can stand the ear upright in the microwave. This gives all the kernels a chance to

What the dried ear of corn looks like after it’s been microwaved (it makes a surprising amount of popcorn! Filled a large bowl!)

pop. Also, the time it will take to pop completely will vary from microwave to microwave will vary but once you figure it out, do not let it overcook or it will smell like death. You have been warned. Also, don’t get confused with the ornamental ears of corn they sell around this time of year. I don’t think those will pop anyway. If you aren’t sure – just ask the farmer.

Now for the best part. I have recently discovered the joys of cinnamon honey butter. Lots of local farmers and honey producers sell this. My favourite is from Harvest Honey; they add a little brown sugar which really brings all of the flavours together. I don’t remember who first suggested I try melting and drizzling a little of this over popcorn but whoever you are – I love you. It’s like a cinnamon bun romanced your favourite movie time snack. How good is it? Hubby couldn’t get enough and he is decidedly not a fan of popcorn but I had to haul him away from the empty bowl.

So if you aren’t a fan of disease inducing, chemically laced snacks and want to try something with a really fantastic and unique flavour, give this a try. A few minutes in the microwave and you’ll have sweet natural popcorn with a sweet and spicy butter flavouring that will keep your taste buds buzzing!

Where to Find It:

Acorn Creek Farms

http://www.acorncreek.com/

Harvest Honey

http://www.harvesthoney.com

Leave a comment